I remember when I was a child that going to church was a big thing. At that time of my life, I was Lutheran. We didn’t even think about not going to church on any given Sunday. It had nothing to do with guilt or obligation; it was just the way people were and the way we were brought up. Illness was the only reason you didn’t attend; and even then, you were left home alone while the rest of the family went. Our faith and our beliefs were important to us, and that spilled over into all other aspects of our lives. We lived our faith. But I look at general attendance these days and see so many empty pews with only a few exceptions.

So, what’s happened to our society? Is faith and religion unpopular these days? Back at the turn of the 20th century, and even up into the 70’s, church was popular (though you’ll always find publications that were condemning the modernization of the churches even in the 1800’s). I don’t condemn the modern rites that are used wildly these days; they’re just not for me. I prefer the old traditions like those preserved at S Clement’s, Philadelphia. There was a time when agnostics and atheists were looked at as an aberration of nature. But today people literally find it fashionable to be labeled as such.

So I guess I’m just wondering what needs to happen to get people a little more concerned about their own souls.

