The Divine Office. The breviary. The liturgy of the hours. Whatever you want to call it, it’s there to be used, and in all different forms, from the modern Roman usage to the old Latin forms, to Gregorian Chant. We’ve been told over and over that the Psalms are beautiful prayers, the most perfect prayers that Christ, Himself, used and knew; and what better way to pray the psalms than through the office? I know this. I mean really know this.

So why hadn’t I used it in so many years?

Some part of me would like to retreat to the excuse that my days were too busy, I just didn’t have time, too many things got in the way… But I stand by the reality that we always make time for anything that’s important to us (even to my own condemnation). Yesterday, out of the blue, I was hit with this reality. Why this happened just now, I don’t now (though I think I have an inkling). So I went into the library, grabbed my Anglican Breviary, opened it up, and began with Lauds. It was incredible. It felt like an old friend; like I’d never been away from it. If you are familiar with the layout of the breviary, you know there are different sections to the book, and it generally requires flipping back and forth from one section to another to another in sequence. The Psalms are in one area, the various prayers are in another, the responses and readings are in another, etc. It normally takes quite some time to adjust and get to know the breviary before you start to flow through the hours without too many problems. But for some reason, it flowed for me. And it felt so good.

Years ago, when I first started doing the office, I have to admit I was bored with it. I’m glad we change over time. We grow, and it just feels good.

