First, let me say that I love Lady Gaga. I think she’s awesome. Though her lyrics are very simple (one might even say facile), there’s something about her that intrigues me. She has a catchy beat, she’s sexy, and she loves shock value. It’s reminiscent of the Madonna days.

When I saw this video, I wasn’t sure just how I felt about it. There’s so much there to question (something I love to do). And there are so many images in this video that aren’t in her other videos. It’s almost like she’s challenging us to understand what she’s trying to say; and what that is, is still up for question.

I would love to hear what others think about this video. From what I’ve heard, there’s been heated discussion about it. There are shades of Nazis, World War II, the holocaust, Catholic church, sex, nuns, bondage, androgyny (and not necessarily in that order!). When I originally heard (and fell in love with) the song when the album came out, I had a totally different image in my mind. The lyrics speak of a relationship, blah, blah, blah.

Lady Gaga is known for doing this. She’s done it in the past with her videos. Check out “Bad Romance” and “Telephone.” Though both brilliant in their own creativity (I thought “Bad Romance” was one of the best videos I’d ever seen), they’re both totally different from what one would have imagined just listening to the lyrics.

I applaud her creativity. I know this video (as well as her other videos) carries shock value. That’s a given. It’s art, and like all art, it stirs within us emotion. It speaks to each and every one of us separately, and is not necessarily the same message the author had. It almost reminds me of the story of the piece of art hung in a museum that all the “professional” art critics went crazy over. There was so much passion in the painting. It spoke of anguish and excitement. It portrayed a deep and lasting story that only someone who experienced so much of life could do; someone who experience so much pain and misery. Then they found out it was finger painted by a 5-year-old.

I look forward to seeing what else Gaga creates!

