Father’s Day, as we’re all aware, is a holiday set up for the honoring of our fathers. We get together with the family, make a special dinner, and send greeting cards. And this year isn’t going to be any different for me, though we’ll all be gathering at my brother’s house. But for the first time, I decided to look up some of the history of Father’s Day, and was a little surprised at it’s bumpy beginning.

Mother’s Day was, of course, the first holiday of it’s sort to begin in 1909. Mother’s Day caught on like wild-fire. Father’s Day was introduced the following year to celebrate fatherhood and male parenting, and to honor and commemorate our forefathers. But it took many years for its popularity to catch on. In fact, in the early years, it was gaining in popularity as a joke. It was constantly pushed off as unnecessary, and even Congress ignored it until 1972 when Richard Nixon finally signed it into law, making it a national observation.

To me, fatherhood is not a joke; neither does it stop with recognizing our own fathers. Rather, it advances well beyond to all those father-figures in our lives: those who guide us and direct us, love us and understand us.

Happy Father’s Day to you. I’m so thankful to my father and all those in my life who are/were always being there for me, for loving me, for understanding me, and for guiding me into the life I have.

