Feeding CatI think it’s time I talk about my neighbor. I love cats, I really do; I’m just allergic to them. I love dogs – not allergic to them, and hope to get one again some day. In short, I love animals and all sorts of pets. We had a fish not that long ago, but it died – well, it got flushed. Actually, it hadn’t even quite died by the time “the flushing” happened. It was sick, was eventually going to die, and therefore got flushed. It wasn’t an accidental flush, it was an out-right “I know it’s sick and not dead but I’m still gonna flush it” flush. Because fish are cheap. And they can be flushed without clogging the toilet. I just hope I don’t get seriously sick one day … I might be the one getting flushed. But at least I know I’d clog the toilet.

But I digress.

We have a neighbor. She has cats. She has 7 cats. All of which were feral cats she rescued from the terrors of her porch. Trust me – her porch is a terror. Trash, old food, new food that over time becomes old and rotted food, flies, a bag of KFC leftovers that’s been sitting for at least 3 weeks (and still counting), books, letters, mail, boxes, pillows. (Actually, if they’re still looking for Jimmy Hoffa, I think they might want to take a look here.) Yet amidst this stank mess, she puts out cat food and water to feed anything that crawls around her porch; mainly the feral cats that always seem to be attracted to her. And raccoons. And possum.

When we first moved in, she had almost 18 feral cats living on her front porch, and 5 more she had in the house. Now, by “in the house” I mean the 5 she was able to coax into the house at night as a regular routine; but generally, she props her front door open and lets them roam wild. Now she’s up to 7 cats (the rest have been trapped and taken to the SPCA over the span of 13 weeks). And our “great outdoors” has become so nasty. Between the stench that wafts through the air and the swarms of flying insects, it’s like living next to the Lord of the Flies. For the past 2 years (this will make the 3rd summer) we haven’t even set up our patio set because the stench of cat piss and cat shit is just so bad it’s enough to gag a maggot – and that’s before she opens her windows and doors to let the fresh air in!

We tried to help for the first couple of years. Even helped clean her porch off 3 times, and each time she let it go to crap within a month’s time; like it never happened. I mean, there is “ungly,” and then there is “FUGLY!” and her porch and the smell that eeks out of her house is FUGLY!!

I thought we reached our breaking point last year when we started calling the city on a daily basis to complain about the stench (the one day in the early summer, I stepped out the back door and was literally smacked in the face with this God-awful fugly smell, I had to hold onto something to keep from falling over!) and almost daily they were coming out to fine her. But she ignored them and let them pile up.

Did it make a difference? Nope. Did she clean up her porch and de-stenchify her property? Nope. Has anything changed at all? Absolutely. This year it’s gotten even worse. We filed a formal (read: “filled out an official form”) complaint with the Licensing and Inspections department of the city. I really feel there is such a thing as too many pussies.

