Accupuncture

I know some people are absolutely terrified of needles. They will do anything and everything in their power to avoid getting shots at doctors offices or hospitals. Some will even faint when they see a nurse walk in with a needle. I used to be one of them.

I wasn’t really the type that would fall over or (even worse) throw up on the nurse’s shoes, but I did have my particular level of fear as a child of needles that most children have – the shakes, the chills, the butterflies in the stomach – all symptoms of that feeling of not knowing what it would look like or how big the prick would be, but just knowing that it was going to hurt and hurt bad! As a young child growing up, my mother always took us to this family doctor who believed in the power of Vitamin B-12 and everyone who walked into his office for whatever reason (even if it was to ask directions because you got lost) got a shot of B-12. Shoot first; ask questions later. Of course when he’d come into the room to ask the questions, he always had a cigarette dangling from his lips, ashes dropping to the floor… 

Then one day, when I was taking some sort of medication (I can’t remember what it was, it was so long ago) the doctor had to monitor my blood levels and prescribed blood work every week for a couple of months. Needless to say, I quickly got over my fear of needles. Now, if only I could get over my fear of crepe soles.

But I digress…

A couple of years ago I was introduced to Acupuncture. By “introduced,” I mean it was a last-ditch effort after I’d tried everything else including neurologists, drugs, and denial for years to help treat chronic migraines. After one particularly nasty migraine episode which mimicked a stroke, I finally admitted I needed to do something drastic and immediately went to see an acupuncturist. And I must admit – that is the only thing that got rid of those migraines.

But I haven’t stopped – oh no! Acupuncture is the best thing for what ails ya! Are you plagued with stress? Oh… Em… Gee!! It is the most incredible stress reliever of all times, and after a single little session, you feel like you’ve had the power-nap to beat all power-naps! But that’s not all acupuncture does. It helps with pain relief, with neurological disorders, with allergies, skin conditions – you name it, acupuncture is probably the best thing for it!

I think the next time I see my acupuncturist, I’ll ask her if we can make me thin and gorgeous next.

