According to recent news, Natalie Munroe, a Bucks County, Pennsylvania, High School English Teacher, was fired after being suspended for writing a blog about her job – specifically about her students. Even though she never named her school, or her students, and only went by the moniker “Natalie M,” she did include a photo of herself (Great way to keep everyone guessing who that mystery blogger is, Natalie M!) and wrote some unflattering things about her students. At one point, she wrote, “They are rude, disengaged, lazy whiners. They curse, discuss drugs, talk back, argue for grades, complain about everything, fancy themselves entitled to whatever they desire, and are just generally annoying.”

Wow… Really… I’m shocked that high school students would act like that. Aren’t high school students normally always quiet, reserved, polite, raise their hand when they want to speak, and treat each other with great respect and loving concern?

HAA HAAA HAAAAAA!!!!! (Snort-laugh!!)

Um … you did know this was High School, right? I remember my oldest brother getting thrown out of class for calling his High School English teacher fat. Well, he didn’t exactly say she was “fat”… She was quite large, and as she was walking past him in class, wearing a white blouse that day, with a projector set up in the back of the room, he did ask quite loudly if they were going to watch the movie on her back. Yeah, she really didn’t have a sense of humour. Apparently, Natalie has forgotten what the kids were like when she was in high school. What she describes in her blog is the norm, and I believe she signed up for it when she took the job. And I may be going out on a limb here, but I would guess that someone probably thought she was “just generally annoying” when she was in high school, too. I sure as hell know I was!

This doesn’t mean I believe kids have the right to act this way. Call me an old fart, but as the years roll on, kids are taught less and less respect from their parents, and that behaviour radiates outward. And again, I’m speaking in general terms because I know some incredibly awesome kids who are indeed respectful – like my step-son Andre!!!

I guess my actual question in all of this is more simple than wondering why kids act the way they do in high school, or a particular teacher publicly complains about kids acting normal (like she really didn’t know). And that question is: How can anyone expect to write crap about their job, and not expect to take some heat for it? Could she really be that naive? I would never write anything about my job… BECAUSE I LOVE MY JOB! I have the best job in the world! And the best bosses! I would do anything for them! And this Curious Bloke is so thankful for it all! (Gosh, I hope they’re reading this…)

Supposedly, she’s going after the school district, saying that they’re wrongly firing her for her freedom of speech and she’s an excellent teacher. They, however, say she was fired not because of her blog but because she was a less than average teacher. Of course, either way you look at it, now this will free her up to write more on her blog!

