The Thinker

I occasionally have these random thoughts. Rather than letting them die a lonely death, I decided to write them down until I had enough of them to post here. These are the ideas that I thought, “Gee, I should post a blog about that,” but then realize it’s either too stupid or short (or both) to create an entire blog posting for, so I save them in Evernote (I love that app!) until I have enough of them saved to torture you with them. So, as you read, you may be thinking, “Perhaps some of them should have died that lonely death….

This is my third installment of “Random Thoughts.” So enjoy… or not.

It’s All About Poop

It’s been a very long time since I last owned a dog, let alone two. Things sure have changed since I was a child, and now, owning a dog (or two or ten) is all about watching them poop! I don’t remember doing anything about poop when I was growing up – except for cleaning it up in the yard every day. I guess my parents took care of everything else, or else we were just lucky (or times were different then, and as long as the dog was still breathing, everything was fine).

But now, there’s shots, and nearly weekly and monthly appointments with the vet; you can buy pet medical insurance (if you want to get ripped off, that is), and they even have doggie spas where you can take your Fido for a doggie massage or doggie acupuncture! But the one thing that I’ve realized over the past couple of months is so much more primal: I’m watching them poop so I can make sure it looks healthy. And speaking with other dog owners, they seem to agree that this is the norm! You eventually get to know the shape and color of your dog’s gifts and can even recognize it in a lineup.

Email: The Great Giver of Humility

You’d think in this day and age of email, that we’ve gotten used to the idea of sending off a quick note with spelling errors. It humbles us when we shoot out that quick note, relying on spellcheck and autocorrect, not taking the extra second to double-check and proof-read what we’ve typed. Either that, or we just don’t care because we’ve banged out the note on our smartphone with keys so close together it’s nearly impossible to get it right.

But even in the times when we do happen to double-check and proof-read the note, very rarely do we even look at the addresses to make sure the email is going to the right person. We rely heavily on auto-fill by typing just the person’s first name, knowing the program will get the right contact.

This was apparently going on at work for months without my knowing. Imagine the humility I found when I got a call from a vendor the other day, letting me know that for the past month, she was getting emails from me letting her know when I’ve stepped out for lunch, when I was going to check on the doglettes, or that I was going into my hiding space for an hour. Who knew there were more than one Gertrude in my address book?

Just Because You Can, Doesn’t Mean You Have To

People haven’t mastered the concept that just because they have the ability or the right to do something, doesn’t mean they absolutely must do it. Yet here we are, in the fine State of Delaware, or the fine Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, where one can turn right at a red light after stopping. Generally, the whole “stopping” thing is to make sure there are no other cars coming. When the way is clear, then the driver may proceed to turn right onto the street. This is how it’s supposed to work, but the reality I always see (and especially when I’m the one with the green light) is people who make a quick stop (or even none at all), and, without even looking, continue into their turn to create all sorts of havoc: people (me) slamming on their breaks, people (me) cussing at the driver, people (me) telling them with sign language (well, maybe just with one finger) that they’ve inappropriately cut me off…

The ability to not do something – even though you have the ability (or inalienable right) to do so – is an exercise in restraint. And Lord knows we all need some exercise!

Surprises in My Pocket

It seems like ever since we got doglettes, everything around my life is centered around them – that’s not a complaint, its just an observation – and I often find myself wondering if others’ lives have turned inside out arund their dogs (or cats).

For instance, I’ve been noticing that every one of my coats, jackets, and sweaters (with pockets) have doglette treats in one pocket, and “gift” bags in the other. This way I’ll never be caught without, in case of an emergency (Well, one would think! There have been those times, though, where I’ve run out and didn’t have time to refill the pockets. Ghost finished her little “good girl” job, scratched the ground with all four feet, did her little happy dance, then looked up expectantly at me waiting for the treat she knows she gets every time she does a “good job,” cocking her head to the side looking at me because I’m fumbling in my pocket and coming out with nothing but promises that I’ll give her a cookie when we get inside…)

Conversely, there are the other times when I have plenty in my pocket when Hubby does something really nice. I’ll pull out a treat, hold it up to him, and say, “Want a cookie?”

