Technology

We all remember the times of our childhood when life was much more simple. My parents and their generation would argue that we lived in a more technologically savvy time compared to theirs, and I would not say that is untrue; but I can only write about my own experiences. It is, after all, MY blog.

But I digress.

As a child, we had only two phones in the house: The upstairs phone (in my parents’ bedroom) and the downstairs phone (in the dining room). We had one television (in the living room), and when I was small, it was a black and white set without any kind of remote control. “Cable Television” was a thing of the future. There was only 13 channels with a set of bunny ears on top. “Internet” was a distant dream – along with email, and chat rooms, or even bulletin boards (if anyone remembers what those were in the early years of Internet). And those phones we had were connected to wires – and even worse, the “downstairs phone” was mounted on the wall. To talk on the phone, you had to sit on a chair underneath it, or (*gasp*) stand there pacing back and forth while talking). We did, however (toward my teen years), eventually get a long chord for the handset so that we could get into the kitchen while talking on the phone and either wash dishes or cook something simple on the stove, but that was about it.

My maternal grandparents were the lucky ones when it came to television. They were the first ones to get a color television console. So on special days, when certain special programs came on, we would make a trip to visit Grandmom and Pop-Pop to watch “The Wizard of Oz” in technicolor. It was amazing. (And it was only played once per year around Thanksgiving time, because there was no such thing as “movie rentals,” or “VHS tapes,” or “DVDs.” DVRs weren’t even a dream!) If you wanted to watch a program, you had to see it when it was televised; which meant you had to schedule what you wanted to watch.

Eventually, we got a color television (still without a “clicker,” as the remote controls were called), Cable Television came into existence that gave you a couple more (clear) channels without use of the bunny ears, and Home Box Office (HBO) had one channel that played only movies. It was a huge box that sat on top of your television with a bar you had to slide across to switch from Cable to HBO and back again.

But hey! We were living the dream!

Jump up to today.

We are surrounded by flat screen 70″ televisions that connect to the Internet, hooked up with DVRs, 3000 channels of crap we never watch, Blu-Ray players, cell phones, text messages, chat rooms, Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, email… Hell, we’ve moved past even calling someone on those cell phones to text people instead, feeling that the phone call is a little too “personal” or because we’ve been on the phone all day at work we just don’t want to “talk” to anyone on the phone anymore. It’s a lot easier to just text them and wait for their reply when they get a chance. I rarely even call Hubby on the phone anymore. I just text him to ask him how his day is going, or when his train is getting in. No wonder so many of us are experiencing “thumb tension” these days.

But the other day, Hubby forgot his cell phone at home. Despite going through our morning ritual before we leave the house – it’s a litany of sorts to make sure we have the most important things before we leave so we’re not in trouble: “Keys! Wallet! Phone! Earpiece! Lunch! iPad! KISSIES!!”

We do this every time we leave the house, because there has always been at least one time when we’ve left something behind and regretted it. But like most people say “I love you…” without true meaning (much like someone would say “Good morning,” or “How are you?” or “I think I have gas.”) some mornings when we go through our Morning Litany, Hubby will just simply answer “yes” to each petition:

Curious Bloke: Keys…
Hubby: Yes…
Curious Bloke: Wallet…
Hubby: Yes…
Curious Bloke: Phone…
Hubby: Yes…
Curious Bloke: Ear piece…
Hubby: Yes…
Curious Bloke: Lunch…
Hubby: Yes…
Curious Bloke: iPad…
Hubby: Yes…
Curious Bloke: KISSIES!!!
Hubby: Yes…

The other day was no different. We left the house and I dropped him off at the train station to go to work and returned home to finish getting myself ready, but when I walked into the house, lo and behold, there lay his cell phone on the arm of the sofa…

“WTH??” (That’s “Internet” for What The Hell?)

So I left it there. I figured he’d figure it out eventually.

By the time I got to the office, I’d received an email from Hubby. “I forgot my phone at home.”

DUH!

Yet the problem was more with me, than with him. I thought he would have told me how disconnected he felt not having his phone for an entire day, not able to text me, not able to call me, not able to check stats online, not able to Facebook with his friends and family, not able to listen to music on the train through Spotify… No.

His reply to me that night picking him up from the train? “Wow! I felt so liberated leaving my phone at home! I didn’t have to check it all the time to see if there were any messages or emails or anything! It felt so good!”

Bitch…

Technology. It’s the bane of our existence!

