Acupuncture

Since 2006, I’ve been preaching about the benefits of acupuncture. And for the last 2 years, Hubby has been joining me in that same song, not only because he’s seen what it did for me, but he’s experienced what it did for him, too. It’s gotten to the point where whenever someone starts to talk to me about a medical issue – whether allergies, or migraines, or stress, or insomnia, etc. – my go-to mantra has become “You know what’s good for that?” It’s followed by the resounding answer, “Acupuncture!”

And I think I say it often enough. When my co-workers can finish the sentence for me, I know I’ve done my job. When friends turn to me and tell me, “Why don’t you tell that person what’s good for that,” I know I’ve been heard.

Yet there are still so many that hear about trying acupuncture, but still haven’t gone. And I can’t say I blame them. After all, it took years of people telling me to try it to get rid of my migraines – literally years! – before I actually tried it. And even then, it was only after the drugs were only making things worse, and I had a migraine episode that closely resembled a stroke.

That was the straw that broke the camel’s back for me.

And then there’s my acupuncturist, herself. When talking with her about my experiences and others’, she confessed that she was the same way. (*gasp*) It took years of people telling her to try acupuncture until she finally came around to trying it.

So I wonder what it is that keeps so many of us from trying a method that’s been around and proven effective for thousands of years (even before there was Christianity). Is it because it’s such an ancient practice that we feel it can’t possibly work? Or perhaps we’re lumping it together with other medieval practices we think of as barbarian like blood-letting with leaches. Could it be because we’ve conditioned ourselves (and have been conditioned since birth) that the modern medical approach is the only successful process – that taking drugs is the only way to cure an ailment?

I guess for me, it was because it was “out of the norm.” It was something “frew-frew” that was more “mind over matter” and “think happy thoughts” than anything else. I was also part of the group of people that saw the “magic pill” in everything of modern medicine. I could just take a pill and successfully relieve my symptoms of just about anything.

But that was the problem. Over the years, I was taking more pills, and only relieving symptoms – the cause still remained. Those “magic pills” weren’t so magical and they certainly weren’t curing me of my ailments; they were just covering them up. Or, as they say, treating the symptoms, and not the cause. I was completely fine – as long as I continued taking the pills. As soon as I would stop (or run out before I got a refill), the symptoms would be back with a vengeance.

That’s the one thing I’ve learned about acupuncture. It doesn’t treat the symptoms; it addresses the cause. I won’t go so far as to say it cures everything, but it damn-near comes close to it. If you’re curious to see what acupuncture has “cured” me of, take a look at these posts.

So, just remember. The next time something ails ya, imagine the Curious Bloke asking, “You know what’s good for that? Acupuncture!

