Sponge worthy

Remember the old Seinfeld episode where Elaine’s favorite contraceptive sponge was being discontinued? She panicked and bought up every single one she could find in New York City to last her as long as possible. Then, every guy she would meet or go on a date with, she would have to decide whether they were “sponge-worthy” or not.

I’ve been feeling quite the same way in writing this blog – I now find myself looking at every experience in my life, studying it closely, and asking myself, “What the hell is this shit??” “Is this blogworthy?”

Yeah, yeah, yeah… Not quite the same as using a contraceptive sponge, I’m sure… but I think you get the point. Although, come to think about it, I know some people would equate this blog with a contraceptive sponge…

But I digress.

I can’t help thinking how much social media has crawled up our butts crept into every crevice of our lives, and dominates our minds. Just a mere 10 years ago there was no Facebook, there was no Twitter, and the blogosphere was a minimal creature…. Today, however, we’re spending so much of our time on social media (let’s add Instagram, Snapchat, and a host of other trolling areas to that list) that THEY (that would be the universal “THEY” no one knows) have developed tests, and scoring, and surveys just to track how much time people waste spend of their lives on social media.

Hell, the term “social media” didn’t even exist 10 years ago!

No wonder I’m constantly walking through life with a cocked eye, contemplating what I’m seeing or experiencing, and tallying whether it’s blogworthy, Facebookish, Twattle, or Instagrammy! Yet here we are! And as much as we really don’t want to be equated with the young whipper-snappers teens who’s phones are permanently connected to their hands, we really do a pretty good job of it!

Twitter is the hardest – you only have 140 characters to say what you want to say. Facebook is easier because there’s no character limit (at least none that I’ve found, and I can get quite long-winded!). But Facebook is usually saved for quick rants and raves and postings/sharings of cute dog/cat/infant videos for people to “Aww!” “LOL!” and “So cute!” over them.

Blogging, however, is a totally different creature of the Social Media venue. For the most part, it requires really embarrassing moments thought, design, creation, edits, revision, etc., before publication. Personally, I even have multiple apps across all devices so that while I’m out and about, I always have something with me that I can make notes about blogworthy things I come across (or when Hubby tells me, “Don’t you DARE blog about what I just did!” “You need to blog about what that chick just did…”)

My problem is that I’ve been getting so into finding things that are blogworthy, I’m too busy watching them or experiencing them, that I totally forget to make those notes. And then we end up with a crappy post like this about what’s blogworthy!

