Binge-Watching
I know I’ve written about this once before, but its come up again and I felt the need to write more on it. You know me… I’m so transparent. If it pops into my head, it falls out of my mouth. There’s very little filter. My grade-school teachers used to tell me I had diarrhea of the mouth because I kept on talking all the time, even when it was inappropriate to be talking when I was talking…

But I digress.

What I’m specifically talking about is how so many of us are watching shows on TV these days. That’s the “Binge” part of this post’s title. You all know it as “binge-watching.”

Netflix was the first to give us this opportunity – and even promoted it. Before Netflix, binge-watching was an accidental issue that happened because we got behind in watching the shows we were recording, and realized we had to quickly watch them before they were deleted from the DVR. I’m guessing Netflix saw this trend and took it to the next level. By releasing all the episodes of a season at once, we could now not to have to wait from week to week for the each new episode. We could now watch a show in its entirety without those annoying updates at the beginning of every episode (because it’s been a week since you last saw it and forgot what was going on).

It has so totally affected how Hubby and I watch television anymore. Put plainly, we simply cannot watch a show we can’t binge-watch! Even shows that aren’t released in their entirety – we simply refuse to watch any of the episodes until the season is nearly over (if not completely over), giving us an ample running leap to binge-watch every episode right up to the end.

We did it with Game of Thrones last year, and caught up to everyone else – waiting for an entire year for the next season to begin (which it has, and we’re not watching any of it until it’s done!). And now that House of Cards’ latest season was just released, we’ve plowed through Seasons 1 and 2 so we can head firmly into Season 3 (the most recent one).

As you can figure, there are pros and cons to binge-watching (just like anything else). The major PRO is that you get completely enveloped in the story. You become invested in the characters because you’re spending so much time with them, getting to know them, seeing glimpses into their way of thinking – they almost become real. As each episode ends, instead of moaning “Oh, man! I can’t believe I have to wait until next week to see what happens,” we simply click to the next episode and pick up where we left off with barely a breath in between. The only thing we stop (or pause) for is a bathroom break, or because our eyes are so bloodshot we can’t even see straight anymore!

But then there’s the CON – when the final episode is finished and you’re faced with the brutal reality that you don’t have to wait for a week for the story to continue – you have to wait an entire year!! You begin going through withdrawal. These people – who had become your friends and family because of what you’d just been through – are gone! And for the next 3 weeks (at the very least) you’re talking to everyone about the characters, and the story, and the plot twists – all as if you went through it personally (because you DID) – in a feeble attempt to get it out of your system! So you can finally sleep again at night!

And that’s the “Purge” part of this post’s title.

